http://sports.espn.go.com/nfl/news/story?id=3225539
Senator Arlen Specter is calling the NFL's Commissioner to speak in front of Congress about the destruction of 6 tapes confiscated by the league from the New England Patriots earlier this season. For those of you who don't know this situation...the New England Patriots were caught videotaping the New York Jets hand signals and play calls used for sending calls onto the field to the players. The Patriots admitted they did it and handed over the tapes.
Arlen Specter says "I am very concerned about the underlying facts on the taping, the reasons for the judgment on the limited penalties and, most of all, on the inexplicable destruction of the tapes,"...well Mr. Specter the penalties were not limited by any means. The league slapped the head coach with the largest fine in league history at $500,000, and then they penalized the team $250,000 and their 1st round draft pick, which as NEVER been done before. How is that "limited"? He says he is concerned about the underlying facts on the taping? The Patriots admitted they were taping calls, handed over the tapes, and went about their business. A side note, the Patriots were playing a horrible team, not to mention that the Pats have layed the smack down on every team they played this season, staking themselves as undeniably the leagues best team. There were not "facts" on the tape...they were play call tapes.
And "most of all," he says, "the inexplicable destruction of the tapes,". What are you talking about? They destroyed the tapes because there was no use for them. The league looked at them, the tapes were mostly deemed as against the rules, so they were destroyed so nobody could get them back. Were they supposed to file them away somewhere? Chance somebody taking them? Chance them being sold on eBay? No...and he even compares this to the CIA destroying evidence. WHAT!?!? HELLOOOOOOO....this is the NFL...not the CIA. BIG difference ding dong.
Specter, do America a favor, instead of worrying about this, how about you guys go pass that false sense of "economic stimulation" you guys are piddling around with. Everybody's waiting on you guys in the Senate. Another option, go worry about many of the other IMPORTANT issues that we are facing right now...if you need a hint...IRAQ, IMMIGRATION, SOCIAL SECURITY, and TAXES should get you started up and keep you busy for a little while.
Website Search
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment