A current web-pole conducted by WSBRadio.com shows that 81% of the people believe we should be able to buy beer/wine on Sundays from grocery and convience stores. This has been a big issue of debate here lately in Metro Atlanta and especially Gwinnett County. This is a fairly simple issue. Here in Georgia, we are in the "bible belt". There are alot of people who live in a shell and think alcohol is not ever ingested or believe it should not be period. This touches two different principles.
First, I do not believe the government should be able to tell me that I can buy beer 6 days of the week but on Sunday I am not allowed to. Why should they be able to regulate that??? What good has that done for society??? Just one more thing they need to pull their retarded little fingers out of.
Second, I cannot purchase beer in a grocery store before the 1:00 kickoff but I can drive to any restaurant and drink myself into oblivion, especially if you are watching the Falcons receivers, and then drive home if I so desired??? (***Disclaimer*** I am not recommending this at all...just making a point...Megan) What sense does that make? None...nadda...zero.
Let the individual decide whether or not they want to purchase alcohol on Sundays. This does not stop people from drinking. It only adds one more thing they dislike about our governements' control over us. Now, if you are against drinking and for this legislation...why do you get to decide if I can drink or not on Sundays. Mind your own business. Remember...we are not supposed to judge...right???
Website Search
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
8 comments:
Yes... let us buy beer on Sundays!! and i would rather drink in the comfort of my own home rather than a crowded retaurant! That way you can just stumble right to your bed and pass out instead of having to try to think about getting home!!
Yes, we live in the bible belt. You cannot buy beer on Sunday. I guess this is supposed to keep up some kind of moral standard, I think not. What about all of the sex shops that have opened up all over gwinnett. They are open Sundays, lol. Yet another brilliant idea from our government.
Southern states such as TN & NC among others just don't sell before 12 on Sundays... I can live with that! Anyway, wouldn't the government actually make more money if they sold a taxable commodity on Sundays? Super Bowl Sunday alone would bring in the big bucks!
No, I dont really think it would increase tax revenue. Maybe a very small amount. People still buy it, they just have to plan around not being able to buy on Sundays so they stock up on Saturdays. This is really contributed to all of the screaming bible freaks who want to push their extreme ways on the rest of society and since they have such a loud voice in this region...they usually get their way.
Not being able to buy beer on Sundays is just plain inconvienent. What is the specific reasoning behind this stupid law anyway? Is it out of respect for the Lord? Where I went to church we drank wine on sundays. Is it the act of drinking on sundays, is it the act of purchasing alcohol on sundays or is it getting hammered on sunday? Has it ever been clearly stated what "they" are trying to accomplish/prevent by this?
so buy Extra beer on Saturday you stupid rednecks.
Really, who are you calling rednecks? I sure would like to know where you came from but I guess you are afraid to show your idenity. Rednecks, that is really funny coming from someone called roadbuzzard.
go granny go. you tell that road scum how it is.
Post a Comment